top of page

I Live one life in Santa Barbara...but I have to work 2 jobs!


(Illustration: Eric Hinkley/GIF: Taylor Le)

I like to wake on Saturday morning and do my running from Butterfly beach to La Mesa Park. Unfortunately, that had to changed 6 months ago when I had the bright idea of getting a second job. You see, in Santa Barbara (SB) you either work 7 days a week or you simply don’t. Well we have those people who can afford to work a “normal M-F” job.

Well, in my case, I work 7 days per week; 3 days at my first job, which are during the weekdays, as for my second job, I work 4 days on whatever days I have left. Pretty much I end up working 7 days a week. I really enjoy one of my jobs and the other one is really just for the money.

Living in Santa Barbara can be such a hate-love relationship. You love walking on Cabrillo Street, when some days we get say hi to all the tourist they arrive from around the world. Other days we get to see the art of our locals. On the other hand, we hate that to be able to live in SB, some of us have to work more than 40 hours a week.

What is it that makes SB special? and why is it that we prefer to suffer than moving to another less expensive place? I can only answer with my personal opinion. Santa Barbara is a community full of multi- cultures, excellent school/college options, and amazing people in general.

However… lately, we have been dealing with few changes with housing, the issue is dividing us as a community. I this point I don’t see Santa Barbara as the community that it was 10 years ago.

About 10 years ago, housing wasn’t so much a problem, as it is now. Now you have four types of communities in SB.

Lately, Santa Barbara has been a target of negative comments due to the high amount of project, which media calls “affordable housing”. Affordable housing seems like insult to our community.

The passes 17 years I’ve been in Santa Barbara this is what I’ve seen happening to our community.

I feel our community is divided between locals, Latinos, International, Montecito & Hope Ranch residents.

I’ve seen “locals” those they own a house and they still have their M-F job but live conformable. They already sent their kids to college, and on the weekend they get their visits from their grand kids. I get the feeling they can enjoy Santa Barbara more.

Then you have the “Latinos Community,” who tend to bring color and passion to the community, because in SB we love to celebrate 5 De Mayo, go ask Sharkeez and Sandbar they love the “Mexican” food and expose the Mexican culture. Also let’s don’t forget Fiestas, which are supposed to be Spaniards, but all you see is people drinking Margaritas and eating Tacos (I don’t blame them, I love tacos too).

I really do not like to use the word international, but that’s how some students are described. The “international students community” who come to study either at Santa Barbara City College or University of Santa Barbara. From good sources I know some of this students are paying an exaggerated amount of money to live and study in SB. I’m sure landlords even thought they promote fair housing, they preferred to rent to international students because they can pay more and can get more from the deposit.

Lastly, we have the “Montecito & Hope Ranch community” I really can’t find words to describe this community, but a community of millionaires. You see, their issue is not be able to pay rent or shared apartment complex with intentional students. Their issue is that they want bigger house and more land. According to Santa Barbara Independent, Gwyneth Paltrow a famous Hollywood actress, she wanted to build her new home on a 14,000-square-foot floor plan, the problem is that it was on two lots. The Montecito community was against it, because that’s too much land for one person.What an issue. Now let me tell you a little bit of the pass issues that Hope Ranch had lately, one of the most common and well know hike trail was going to be placed as private property and was not going to be available for the public. I can see the issue there.

You see our community is divided to the convenience of everyone. It’s really hard to find affordable housing, because everyone is paying a different price, but only some of us can afford the price.

Well, I’ll continue with my story once I come back from work…The last day of the month is arriving and rent is due.

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page